Turtle on a Fencepost


After not only experiencing the tragedy of losing four young men from the ORU community in the recent plane crash but also receiving such a gracious gift in Hannah’s survival, I cannot help but examine all of the blessings, challenges, lessons learned, and pending dreams that have defined my life thus far. With the completion of my undergraduate education at ORU, transitioning into a real job, a new home and a new relationship, I can’t think of another stage of my life that has been characterized by so much change and growth. I must confess that it is a bit overwhelming to think about. But totally worth it. It is so fascinating to me to be able to pinpoint how various influences and events in my life have shaped me. As Dr. Rutland explained during this year’s Commencement Ceremony, a turtle does not reach the top of a fencepost by itself; someone must help him. In the same way, I did not become the person I am today by my own volition. There are many “someones” who played key roles in shaping who I am today. Here are just a few (but certainly not all) of the major influences for which I am deeply grateful.

 

My Family.

They have taught me what it means to be selfless. Their natural inclination is to consider the needs of others more than their own. Never would they permit their own challenges to diminish the significance or validity of others’, even if others’ challenges may in fact seem petty in comparison. My parents have taught me the importance of shaping ones’ mind through the words that we speak and the attitudes behind them (and I am not talking about word of faith, positive confession type of stuff). They taught me the worthlessness of complaining and the dangers that could ensue. They taught me that I have the power to choose my words and my attitudes in such a way that can strengthen not only myself but also those around me.

 

My friends.

It is overwhelming to think about the caliber and quality of people who have been placed in my life. I feel spoiled to be entrusted with such friends. They have taught me the importance of self-disclosure after years of forbidding myself from lowering my guard. They have taught me that weakness becomes strength when one allows others to offer support. This strength is cultivated in community, not in isolation. Having community provides vital perspective and accountability. This is where passion is often stirred. This is where mindsets have been challenged and stretched for the better.

 

The ORU Chaplain Program.

I could write a book about all of the lessons that I have learned (and am still learning) through this program. I learned that it is actually feasible to struggle well. Brokenness is not to be despised but could actually be a sign of life and hope. I learned that to be selfless is not to be in self-neglect. I learned that I am not a savior; I can just point others toward Jesus. Through hardship and situations that I have yet to reconcile with my understanding of God’s character, I have seen His faithfulness. I was taught the significance of trusting that God’s capacity to love is so much greater than my own…and that I desperately need to tap into that love if I want to truly love and learn how to receive love.

 

Of course, this is only a glimpse into the vast array of influencers who should receive credit for the way that I have turned out thus far. I could share a great deal about what I’ve learned from my professors, my boss, my pastors, etc. but I would be naïve to think that I could adequately list each and every significant influence in my life in one sitting. Perhaps this entry could be considered as a simple teaser, something to make you all wonder who and what else has played a significant role in my life. But I doubt that would be the result. I would hope that this entry would actually kindle gratitude and cause you, dear reader, to realize that you are not you by your own accord. You are you because of so many others.

The cool thing is that others are who they are because of the influence that you have in their lives. And you get to choose what kind of influence you want to be. So choose wisely.

One thought on “Turtle on a Fencepost

  1. You think I am refreshing??? What a breath of fresh air you are!

    I love the term “struggle well.” I have seen it in some other post, perhaps after someone attended one of the services. That term is going to be one of my mantras. I can see myself saying it while running a marathon, or while working through an internal issue, or while being with someone who is difficult for me to be around.

    I’m so glad I met your family! They have tought you well but you are a good learner, it takes both!

    I too, value my days @ ORU as a chaplain, especially Bob Stamps was the campus pastor at the time.

    Thanks for a little glimpse, I am thankful that you are part of our team!

Leave a comment