New Wineskin


“No one puts new wine into old wineskins; otherwise the wine will burst the skins, and the wine is lost and the skins as well; but one puts new wine into fresh wineskins.” Mark 2:22

The thing about moving on is that the process is quite unsettling. Literally. There is so much uncertainty associated with letting go of one thing in order to grab hold of something entirely new. I often wonder how I might let go of something in which I have invested so much of myself – especially when the released object still possesses unrealized potential. Letting go sometimes feels like betraying that potential for the sake of pursuing a new potential which has not even provided a guarantee for its fruition. Perhaps one potential could be pursued simultaneously along with the other. Perhaps.

But what happens when the “perhaps” becomes a more pronounced “no”? How might one muster up the courage to let go of something that has been the primary recipient of one’s time and energy?

Entertaining this musing evoked a bit of trepidation as I wrestled with the decision to let go of my position of employment at my dear alma mater. I have been employed in one capacity or another in the same department for six adventurous years. During my time there, I have come to cherish the friendships that have been cultivated, the lessons that have been absorbed and the skills that have been refined. I was privileged to discover what teamwork can accomplish when working together with others who passionately believe in the same goal. Even in the difficult seasons when we did not know how we might pull off seemingly impossible endeavors, the team in this department valiantly stood together and somehow the impossible took place. Words fail to describe the incredible triumphs and day to day faithfulness exhibited by this team of individuals. I am ever grateful for my time serving the university alongside of them.

That said, my time with them could not extend any further, for something new demanded my energy and attention. Granted, it was no secret that I had no long-term intentions of remaining in this particular field. It was well known that the opportunity to work there was intended to serve primarily as a means for me to pursue my Masters in Christian Counseling. Ultimately, my education and my ability to manage my scope of work began to conflict, much like I imagine it would for new wine to be forced into old wine skins. The more I attempted to force my work and my education to coincide as priorities, the more I felt like my seams were in danger of bursting – and the more I felt a conviction that this dream of pursuing my Masters in Christian Counseling required new wine skin.

This conviction has been stirring for quite some time; however, it was only in the last month or so that surrounding situations have pushed me to take action sooner rather than later. Though the decision was more difficult than I initially anticipated, I have felt an unwavering grace throughout the entire process of transition. I have been immeasurably blessed with the support of so many people who have been such a vital source of life and clarity. My dreams, my passion, my energy and my hope are all still alive because of these individuals who have opened my eyes to see possibilities that I would not have dared to acknowledge.

So, with unspeakable peace and great hope for tomorrow, I am taking this new wine and placing it into new wine skin. 

Leave a comment